90,000 ntd vs. 68,000 ntd salary--help!

Hi everyone,

I just got a job offer from two schools in Taiwan.
However, I’m not sure if it is hard to find a teaching job in Taiwan that offers 90,000ntd/month or not. Here are some info:

1. private preschool (3 year olds) (90,000$)
    8:00am-6:30pm
    10 hours /day with 1 hour lunch break
    30 min. Prep time included
    10 children
    Helper–with Taiwanese teacher 1
    Paid vacations / holidays

2. public school (Gr 1-5) (67,000$)
    8:00am-5:00pm
    8 hours / day with 1 hour lunch break
    No prep time included
    Around 30 children
    Coworker–Taiwanese teacher 1
    Paid vacations/ sick days/ annual leave/ etc.
    Airplane ticket 40,000 and another 40,000 for return
    5,000/month housing stipend

I have a BA/ TESL certificate/ 1 year of classroom teaching/ teacher license/ 3 years of other teaching experiences.

What would you choose if you guys were me?
Any reasonable ideas?

This is my first time teaching in Taiwan and I really dont know if these salaries are suitable or not. Thanks for your help!!!

3 year olds? As far as I know teaching Kindergarten in Taiwan is illegal for foreign nationals or something along those lines, which would be any child under 5.

At 90,000, you would be living the really really good life, especially if it’s out of Taipei. I know very few people (local or Taiwanese) doing any kind of job who make that much!

However, the hours sound exhausting. I’m no expert on teaching, but it seems that dealing with 30 elementary-schoolers for 1 hour per class would be much easier than dealing with 10 3-year-olds for 9 hours. With the former, your job is to teach. With the latter, your job is to teach and babysit.

For comparison, average monthly salaries last year according to a random blog (I’m too busy to check against gov’t data right now, but this looks about right)…
Age 20-44: NT$35,659
National: NT$35,986
Proportion of workers paid more than NT$70,000 a month: 5%