APRC issue due to Taiwanese Parent

Hello All,

I am beginning the process of applying for an APRC as I have been using a work permit/ARC for the past 5 years in Taiwan. After calling NIA I was told that because my mother is Taiwanese (with ROC ID no.) I am not eligible for the APRC.

I currently hold a US passport and do not and have never applied for a Taiwanese passport or any documents showing me as a NWOHR. He did mention that as my mother is Taiwanese I am automatically a Taiwanese National which is why I am not eligible.

Looking at the NIA form that they hand out for APRC application procedure it does say “applicants who also have ROC citizenship are not eligible for an APRC” but as I do not have a Taiwanese passport and never applied to get a ID card I do not believe I count as a ROC Citizen.

The APRC application form also says “applicants who are the spouse or child of an ROC national must reside in Taiwan for 5 consecutive years … etc” which to me should mean even if a parent is of ROC nationality I should still be eligible for APRC granted I meet all the other requirements.

Has anyone experienced this situation or similar? I hope to gain better understanding on my situation before going in to the NIA with all my forms and papers and be rejected.

Thanks

I got my APRC a couple of years ago. My mother is also Taiwanese with dual citizenship/passports (TW/USA). Unfortunately, I am not eligible for a TW ID because before the year 2000, TW would only recognize the father’s nationality.

If you were born after 1980, you can get a Taiwan ID through your mother and by defacto ineligible for the APRC.

If you were born before 1980, you cannot get a Taiwan ID through your mother and would need to go the APRC route, as I did.

1 Like

Any clue as to what the deal with both parents being TW ID holders?

Thank you Yang Gui Zi for the insight! I was born after 1980 so I guess I would technically be ineligible for the APRC.