Average total work hours?

Hi,

I’m new here. I’ll probably be posting often with more questions. :smiley:

I’ve been tossing around the idea of going to Taiwan to teach English for a while. I have a BA and one year of previous teaching experience teaching at a college in Japan. Additionally, I was a Chinese language tutor (hired by my professor) while in college. I speak Japanese and Chinese (Mandarin). I’m guessing that I would only be able to work at a buxiban. (I don’t have TESL/TEFL and can’t really afford one right now.)

I understand that typical teaching hours are around 25 hours a week, when working full time. Does this usually include prep time, grading, etc.?

How many hours can one expect to work being salaried/full time as an ESL instructor in Taiwan?

On a side note, how much can one expect to pay monthly for food and utilities without being excessive?

Thanks for the help!

Some employers don’t want to recognize non-classroom time as work time. Legally speaking, the term “teaching related duties” is supposed to include lesson planning etc.

You roughly spend around 500NT a day on food including three meals and some snacks in between. However, it really depends on your personal diet. Some people like eating western food, which tends to be 500NT a plate, whereas local food like a bento is around 50-100NT.

For utilities, if you’re sharing an apartment with 1-2 other people, it’s normally 1000NT for TV/internet/water. Electricity may vary due to the rates per kilowatt being different in the winter/summer.

Yeah, that’s what I figured. Do you usually get other hours at work to do prep, lesson plans, etc.? Or is it more something you have to do at home?

I’m just trying to figure out, in terms of a visa, if one has to work a set amount of hours to be considered full time; and how many hours one can expect to work teaching full time. Am I working a 35 hour work week, 40 hour, 50 hour???