Bike Maintenance Q

How often do you guys get your road bike maintained? I only ride about 50-70km a month.

After every ride, I do a quick clean and dry, but never anything else. Should I spot clean the chain? Oil it up? I’m a novice so I’m not too confident doing anything else myself.

Also, I’ve been quoted by a LBS that a typical maintenance will cost about NT2000 without any major issues. Is this the norm?

50-70km a month, riverside only and not riding in rain (in my book) is a once every 6 month check up if you don’t feel or hear any issues witht he bike.

If you’re doing 50-70km a month with some climbing and/or in rain, I would say a check up every 3-4 months and see what the LBS suggests.

Take note if they don’t know you well, they will try to milk a maintenance out of you because they will make a good amount of money for the service. You can share your issues/thoughts here if you need a second opinion.

This is a good habit and you should continue the traditional no matter what the conditions were on your ride! You’re doing a little more than the leisure rider, so I would suggest picking up some chain lube. It shouldn’t be more than 400NT and it will probably last you up to 2 years with the amount your riding.

Check out GCN Youtube videos on how to properly oil your chain. It’s quite simple. Some tips:

• I personally don’t suggest WD40 (as Simon suggests)
  • Skip the de-greaser, don’t need it in such humid conditions like in TW
  • Make sure the chain is free of water before oiling, humid weather makes the components prone to rust!

2000NT is on the higher side of a maintenance fee. However, this will really depend on what the shop includes in the package. If they can be more specific, it’d help me answer your question on whether it’s expensive or not.

Here’s the usual break down (but not true for every bike shop)

Minor Maitenance (Estimate 1200-2000NT)

• full clean and polish