Conscription laws 2014?

Alright I got a question I hope someone could give me some insight on.

Heres my situation:
I was born in Taiwan then moved to California when I was 3. I stayed in California till I graduated college and moved to Korea to teach English in 2010 and I’m currently teaching English in Korea. I was born on Sep 6,1985, so I’m eligible for the draft. I want to go back to taiwan as soon as possible but I do not want to waste a year of my life in the army.

I have a dual citizenship with an overseas chinese stamp in my R.O.C. passport.

This is what I read recently: Males born after 1994 will only have to serve 4 months in basic training and are exempt from a full year and 2 months of service.

focustaiwan.tw/ShowNews/WebNews_ … &Type=aIPL

I also read that by the start of 2014 they will turn the draft into an all voluntary service.

etaiwannews.com/etn/news_con … id=1786382

So, I just want to be sure that when I return to Taiwan after 2014 when the draft laws change into an all voluntary service with only 4 months of basic training that I wont have to serve a full year because I wasn’t born after 1994. In other words, when I go back in 2014 when the laws change, will I have to serve a full 1 year or just 4 months and be done with that hot mess?

I would call the conscription office, which I did, but failed to coherently understand wtf they were trying to tell me.

when those laws change, I have 2 options: go back and serve 4 months or go back and serve a full year.
If its the latter and I have to serve a full year even with the change in laws, Then I might as well go back now and get it over with.

You likely have to spend a year teaching English to aboriginal schoolchildren. Only those born 1994 or later get away with doing only 4 months of military training. Those born before 1994 have to do a year of alternative military service. On the bright side, teaching English is something you should already be familiar with.