Current News and Info on Post-quake Nuclear Problems

I am.

I’m no expert on nuclear reactors, but articles like this:

have me worried,

I don’t even know what a “nuclear meltdown” means. Reuters isn’t known for sensationalism.

My prayers are with the people of Japan.

I hesitate to post any more links, because some are sensational, and some are pro-nuclear reactor.

But this is a serious concern. I hope they get it sorted out. The worst-case scenario is pretty bad.
This is from the BBC’s live blog: bbc.co.uk/news/world-middle-east-12307698

[quote] The Union of Concerned Scientists is publishing updates on its website covering technical aspects of the nuclear difficulties in Japan.
Mr Lyman goes on to raise the spectre of Chernobyl: “In the worst case the entire core could melt through the steel reactor vessel and escape into the containment building, and then the containment is the only thing that is standing between the radiation in the reactor and the atmosphere. There is a chance if that does occur that there will be over pressure, the containment can fail and you might have a release on the order of the Chernobyl accident.”[/quote]

I read on another site that currently the wind is blowing West, so the nuclear whatever it is called would blow out to the Pacific. But, that still isn’t very nice.

:frowning:

Isn’t the nuclear material being stored at Lanyu on the east side of the island near the coastline, i.e. near the open ocean? I hope that its protected from another tsunami.

The Pacific stretches out in the East of Japan.

I haven’t read that, petrarch, where did you see that?

I have been reading that there are 5 reactors and two of them are failing to cool down.

The Pacific stretches out in the East of Japan.[/quote]

I guess you’re right, but that is what I read. :ponder:

[quote=“Chuanzao El Ale Destroyer”]I haven’t read that, petrarch, where did you see that?