Freelance coding

I might be moving to Taiwan in a few months to work a desk job. I can bring my own computer to this job and there will be lots of downtime, so I’ll be able to work on outside projects.

I currently work as a web developer in the US, and would like to continue doing this on the side. Since Taiwan is essentially diametrically opposite the US time-zone wise, it seems like that could be an advantage to finding contract work from US companies. I’d be open to projects outside of web development too (and from non-US clients).

I was wondering if anyone has done some freelance coding while in Taiwan, how’s it gone for them, and if there’s a good place in particular to look for such work.

I’m not a freelance coder but I know there are a number of online sites where you can find work. I do a lot of editing with clients I find from these sites. I get a lot of work off of Upwork but there are other sites.

Just use Google to find them, set up a profile and start looking for work.

Thanks Gilgmesh, I’ll check that site out and look around some too.

Looks like a bid war on Upwork. They all look so inexpensive; I bet they are disingenuous about how long it takes to complete the job. Business attorneys for US$75/hr? I hope that I am wrong. Maybe it is that much more competitive on a worldwide stage.

I tried advertising on upwork once but didn’t get much out of it. It may be different for what you do, but what I do (realtime/embedded) tends to be medium-term projects that results in physical hardware, and a professional company won’t want to farm the job out sight-unseen to a random guy on the other side of the planet.

Also, as noted, there’s always some guy in Bangladesh who will do the job for $3.

I’d just register with a local (US) employment agency - and tell them your plans. Monster.com might work too.