I am an American looking for a job

Hey guys, where should I go to find a non teaching job? I have a bachelors from a decently known uni in the states. I am willing to take anywhere from 25k to 35k as long as it is not teaching english. I do not want to be known as an English teacher. Will companies be willing to hire me? I am fluent in Mandarin but my reading and writing need work. I have a hard time reading 104. I heard that for foreigners the minimum is 47k, is that true? If I give some money back to the boss under the table will they offer me a job at 47k?

1 Like

Not likely. Never say never, but you’ll need to work legally and you are trying to play fast and loose with the law.

If you have any performer/artist experience and want to take a crack at self-producing, I can help you with the legalities of that. But straight up jobs need straight up contracts to get an ARC.

Good luck though.

If you don’t have 2 years relevant experience you can’t really get hired with only a Bachelors. I’d look for internship-type jobs, that’d be your way forward. Forget about some sort of low-balling, pay back the salary scam, that’s lose-lose-lose for everyone.

1 Like

Companies generally hire people with skills needed to accomplish specific corporate functions. A BA degree is NOT a skill! There are 100sss of overseas Chinese in TW with quality foreign degrees, speak English, can read, write, & speak Chinese AND have a local passport - this is your competition.

What skills do you have that will set you apart from the above?? If you really don’t have any - better to do a rethink and develop some. In fact, you might be better off in the States where you could capitalize on your Mandarin language skills.