Is it possible to get an APRC while studying if you have a pension and pay taxes?

I was reading some older posts, but I cannot find anything directly related. I saw “toe save” looking for background models, which seemed interesting.

I have a small disability pension, just enough to live on. I would be interested in either studying and/or working part-time and/or … throw some suggestions my way.

I don’t mind paying the 5% tax on my pension income if necessary, but it would also be great to work at something.

The end goal is to obtain an APRC and not have to leave.

I haven’t found anything much by going to the … Consulate equivalent Trade something in my home country … to explain if this is even possible.

I have a degree from McMaster University iin Canada, and various subjects from Aussie universities and a short stint as a research assitant at UBC and an Air Force officer in the RAAF, and I have lived and worked on yachts (not super yachts) and done a bit of research SCUBA diving long ago, and … I am open to learning new tricks.
Oh yes, I also have a certificate that says I am qualified to teach English and I would be interested in freelance-ish teaching English to Business professionals and … a couple other things up-my-sleeve.

Any information that would help would be most appreciated. Thank you.

Whether you qualify for an APRC or not is entirely dependent upon your purpose of residence. According to article 25, sentence 2 of the Immigration Act, any time spend in Taiwan while your purpose of residence is studying(居留事由:就學)does not count towards the 5 year residence period required for an APRC.

You may of course come as a white collar worker and study on the side, in which case your residence purpose is not studying. Some people establish representative offices of overseas companies and after 5 years obtain an APRC. The benefit of this option would be less scrutiny in terms of income requirements. There are several threads on this process already.