Kaoshiung for Gelato Business?

I am new to Taiwan and want to pick the best City in Taiwan to start my Gelato Business. I want a city that has a population that craves ice cream and gelato,. A city that has opportunity for this kind of business for a Foreigner.

I would also need to have Access to Gelato Supplies, such as Powdered Mixes, Fruit Flavorings, etc. Also a city that has access to reasonable rental prices for business and Home and a Large Student Population which would avail my business.

In terms of temperature and rent levels, K-town is not a bad place to start.

You could also look into Zhubei, which has high purchasing power, lots of kids (high birthrate compared to the rest of Taiwan) and is under-retailed.

Here in Kaoshiung, I think there is enough Ice Cream shops, but the most popular here is soft serve Japanese style for youth markets (I guess in most of Taiwan). As mentioned , other areas with less retail may be better.

Craving for ice cream in Taiwan? Not in any city here, the only thing they like to buy is as said ā€˜Japaneseā€™ soft serve (cheap) and shaved ice with weird toppings.

The next thing you said, powdered mixes, fruit ā€˜flavoringsā€™? How about real handmade craft/artisan ice cream. Now thatā€™s a new market worth exploring.

Unless you are Turkish and do tricks while scooping ice cream, little chance.

https://youtu.be/sfVMquQ731k

Or you need to have deep pockets and are called ā€˜Cold Rockā€™ or ā€˜Heagen Flashā€™

There is definitely demand for :ice_cream: in Taiwan. Especially in the summer.

1 Like

We just had one gelato place open here in Xindian. I would have thought it could be a hit right on. 60 nuts a sizeable cup seems all right to me for a flavorful, rich, creamy treat. But seems the acquisition power in our area, alas, is not in its favor. Strangely enough, a couple of blocks away, 350 to 500 nuts is the norm. So my advice is yes location location location.