PhD in English lit and state certification; what are my prospects?

Hi,

Anyone have some advice on how to find a university job in Taiwan? I just finished a PhD in English literature and I have some experience in postsecondary teaching in Hong Kong. I’d be satisfied to teach literature or something in the ESL direction (or some combination of both).

I’m from the US and a native speaker. I don’t have any academic contacts in Taiwan to speak of.

Is there a particular website (or forum) where academic jobs are usually posted? I’ve looked around and I can’t find a more efficient method than looking on the websites of each individual university.

I’m also thinking about ditching academic and transitioning into teaching in a school. I like teaching but a life devoted to research is not for me. Wondering if my PhD would give me a leg up in an international school or something. I also have state certification in English grades 5-12.

I’d be grateful for anyone who can offer some advice or insight!

Hey. You should be set if you have a PhD. I teach at a well known and well regarded university and only have a Master’s and TESOL cert. With a PhD, you should be as golden as you can get here.
Universities generally don’t advertise in job forums. Best way to get a job is to check out the Uni web-sites (that’s how I got mine), social network with some Uni teachers so they might recommend you if there’s an opening, or simply visit the Unis and ask the English department in person (this last approach might seem desperate, but it did work for a friend of mine). Good luck, but I don’t think you’ll have too much trouble. The only possible downer I can think of is June is pretty late in the hiring season for the fall semester, so you better act fast.

2 Likes

Your prospects?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2JApMoRQ7yA

1 Like