Please Help a Newbie Teacher with Lesson Planning Advice?

Hi everyone,
I got a job at Hess. However I am new to teaching. May I please ask you do you know how to create a lesson plan from the book? How to divide up the lesson plan timing wise? Also, what English books do most elementary schools in Taipei use? Do you have any classroom speaking tips for a newbie to English teaching? Alsom do you gave any links to teacher guides or English books they use in Taiwan elementary schools?

Thanks,
Patrick

Don’t they give you some training? Honestly, my advice is always have more work they can do then planned.

1 Like

Hi Andrew, they do give you training but I am a social moron, who overthinks things, I fear I won’t be good enough for the job.

PS I saw your profile pic. Do you train at Taiwan Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu?

No, that was in Thailand training in the pic. I train at O3 fitness, mostly muay thai. Not much of a BJJ guy, it’s hard to find time to be multi disciplined in striking and grappling.

Honestly, go in with confidence, children smell fear and weakness and will take advantage of it. I sure made it hell for substitute teachers when they came in when I was young when I saw they couldn’t control the class. It’s far better to be a strict teacher in the beginning, and ease up as you get to know them than a teacher who lets them do whatever and try to be strict. Set clear rules and boundaries in the beginning.

Lesson planning skills take time to get better, as long as you plan you will be fine. It gets easier when you know the class as well, there’s no cookie cutter way to lesson plan that will fit perfectly for each class. Just have extra stuff for some kids who finish much faster or else they will be running around.

1 Like

Thank you. It is good advice.

I just looked it up and O3 Fitness is less than a mile from where I live. Hahaha :slight_smile:

You get the forumosa discount at O3. Check it out.

1 Like