Resources for learning/using Taiwanese/Taigi/Holo/Hoklo

I just want to maintain a list of useful tools and resources for those who are interested in learning Taiwanese/Holo/Hoklo. I self-taught Taiwanese to myself when I was still in the US. I went from not being able to speak at all, to being capable of reading/writing/saying full sentences. My Taiwanese is by no means perfect, but I’ve come a long way. I think learning romanization is a great gateway for us non-native Taiwanese speakers.

The official romanization system is Tailo (Tâi-ûan Lô-má-jī). I highly recommend Tailo system, because some of the POJ’s phonetics is a bit ambiguous (o representing multiple sounds for example), but there are more people who use POJ. Although the two systems varies very little, so I would suggest learning Tailo, which helps pronunciation, and then look at the comparison table once, and you’ll have no issue reading POJ.

Communities

Ohtaigi sub-reddit
reddit.com/r/ohtaigi/
An English community for studying Taigi.

Dictionaries

TEDICT
jimbu.bricksquare.com/dictionary/
English/Taiwanese and Taiwanese/English dictionary. Uses Tailo.

FHL Taiwanese dictionary
taigi.fhl.net/dict/
This dictionary is translated from the original Japanese/Taiwanese dictionary. It currently is a Taiwanese/Taiwanese dictionary with links to the original Japanese/Taiwanese texts. Taiwanese dictionary in POJ and Tailo. User can select Unicode or pictures or numbers for the tonal label.

Online Taiwanese character dictionary
210.240.194.97/TG/Jitian/tgjt.asp
This is a Mandarin/Taiwanese character dictionary. It is useful for looking up individual characters. Each look up provides a link to entries in the next dictionary. This dictionary uses POJ.

Online Taiwanese dictionary
210.240.194.97/iug/Ungian/soannt … Taihoa.asp
This is a Mandarin/Taiwanese dictionary for word and phrases. This dictionary uses POJ.

The government’s Taiwanese dictionary
twblg.dict.edu.tw/holodict_new/index.html