Start packing?

I’m currently a student in Taiwan, and don’t have a work permit. Done a bit of freelance translation and editing without asking anyone for permission.

Just got a summons from something called the Foreign Worker Counseling Center, telling me that they suspect I’ve violated Taiwan’s labor laws, and that I have to go there on a certain date for questioning, and to bring my pp, arc, and work permit.

I travel overseas fairly regularly, so isn’t it just a matter of explaining that any such work was done while I was outside of Taiwan?
Seems pretty simple to me, or am I missing something?

Anyone been there before?

Sounds like someone ratted you out that really doesn’t like you. I’d almost bet they have real proof like a bank statement or something if they are calling you in. I’d suggest the following:

1. Admit nothing
  2. Admit nothing
  3. See what they have, still admit nothing
  4. Make sure they haven’t sent money to your bank account. If a customer has, then have a real good excuse as to why they did that.
  5. Make sure all your shit is packed as they can deport you without recourse nor due process, and that someone can send it to you.
  6. Admit nothing, plead ignorance and say there must be some misunderstanding while admitting nothing

Good luck,
Okami

You can try ignoring everything and see what happens. I got a summons, in Chinese, one time on my door to go down to the police station. There was no mention of why they wanted me to go down there. I even showed it to my Chinese friends and they didn’t know what it was :loco: . I was worried about it and so I ignored it. That was five years ago. I have left the island and come back since then. I assume if they really wanted me, they would have gotten me by now. :smiley:

Any news on the OP dude???

She’s a woman, but nah no news.