Study Ph.D in Taiwan or China?

I’m looking at studying in Asia, preferably back in Taiwan, but then again I think China brings a competitive edge in terms of challenges from classmates and getting to build connections in a much bigger plain.

I’m looking at Beijing’s Chinghwa University, or Taiwan’s Dharma Drum.

Not sure which to study, either Buddhism or Business.

I have an MBA in business, and actually got rejected by Dharma Drum this year after applying for Ph.D. They prefer to have Ph.D students with master degree in buddhism as well.

What are the pros and cons of studying in China vs Taiwan?

Please advise,
Thanks

I believe it’s spelled Tsing Hwa University, and it is by every measure imaginable the better school. China, hands down. PhDs in Taiwan take forever (I know a few people in their eighth or so year of liberal arts degrees) and are not valuable outside of Taiwan. Even within the country, it will get you an extra few thousand a month, but not much else.

Even better, get a PhD from a Western (or Japanese) university and do some of your research in China or Taiwan.

If you are looking to study Buddhism, then I’d say Dharma Drum, although it isn’t easy to get in. In terms of academic studies, Dharma Drum is very open to all schools of thought. Buddhist text philology is a booming field and Dharma drum does a good job at it because people here have no trouble understanding Chinese translations, and there are good English reference sources for Pali Tipitaka out there. Outside of Dharma Drum, only Fuyan Institute and a few others would be worth your time.

Buddhism studies is very well established in Japan though.

As for business, it’d be a lot more useful to do it in Japan or the US.