Tips for searching for a job in Taipei for Filipinos married to Taiwanese Spouses (JFRV)

I am a 22-year old male Filipino with a taiwanese Fiancee. My fiancee’s mother has agreed to let her daughter marry me and live in taipei together with them with the condition that I have to make sure that i can get a job in taipei first. I am currently a second year medical student and i am also a registered medical technologist. What jobs could i possibly in taipei with these credentials ? Please help :frowning:

IMHO, it would be a lot easier to get the job after you both have officially married and received your JFRV. And as for these conditions, who is she to decide these conditions? Sounds BS to me that my mother-in-law will layout rules and regulations regarding my marriage. I would definitely re-consider tying bonds with a woman who can’t defend you and is not trying to choose you over her mom especially with conditions like the aforementioned.

Regarding your question, like I said before, with a JFRV in hand, the process of job finding would be simpler and straightforward since that will eliminate the need of a work-permit. Good luck

Thank you for your advise. My fiancee tried to defend me though and i completely understand her mother since in their tradition, it’s supposed to be the girl who moves in with the guys family. but yeah, i would also want to find a job. Thanks for your input! :slight_smile:

If you are a medical student then you are simply not in a position to get a job. The MiL’s request is completely unreasonable.

Although asking permission for marriage is a polite formality, there is no legal requirement to get parental permission. If you and your gf want to get married, then just get married. It may well be, of course, that your gf will listen to her mother, in which case she’s clearly not ready for marriage anyway.