Two-Year Work Experience Requirement - Is There a Way to Appeal?

After two months of job-hunting and being accepted to work for a large Taiwan corporation as a technical writer, I was abruptly informed last evening that they won’t be able to hire me because the Workforce Development Agency found that I do not meet the two-year work experience requirement for working in Taiwan as a foreigner. Is there any way to contest this or ask for an appeal? Here’s a link to the FAQ: http://www.wda.gov.tw/en/home.jsp?pageno=201111180014&acttype=view&dataserno=201412040003

I lived here in Taipei for three years from 2011-2014, during which time I studied Mandarin and attended a year of university at a Taiwan university. When I got married last summer, I had the option of continuing my studies in Taiwan for a minimum of three years before graduation, or returning to the US where I only had one year remaining. As time was of the essence, I went with the latter option, and returned this summer to find a job. I have worked for a few years doing part-time jobs in the US, but never for more than a year in a stretch. If you know what they’re basing their two-year assessment off of, I’d really like to know. (Do they only count full-time employment after a person has graduated?)

Other information of note: I am fluently multilingual in English, Japanese, and Mandarin. Both my mother and my wife live and work full-time in Taipei. I graduated this year with a degree in mathematics.

I can understand why a country would have these kinds of controls on foreign talent entering the country, but I will be devastated if I have to spend two years apart from my wife and my mother before being able to work in Taiwan.

Thank you!

Yes there is a way to get an exemption. It is quite a bureaucratic process but read this thread about one guy who was successful. forumosa.com/taiwan/viewtopi … ckpacker24

Normally they only count two years related full-time work experience after graduation.

Good luck!