Visa advice for a Sri Lankan (with Taiwanese fiancée)

Hello,

I hope someone can help me here, as I have searched online looking for information but couldn’t find any.

I am a Sri Lankan national, with Sri Lankan passport. I am currently studying in UK with my Taiwanese fiancée. We both hope to finish our studies in January 2016. We also hope to get married early next year.

I would like to know if Sri Lankans can get a spouse visa ? And if so, what are the required documents necessary ?

Also, is it possible to get registered (marriage) in Taiwan ? Would the immigration office accept marriage certificates from other countries ?

And lastly, does anyone know if a Sri Lankan on a spouse visa can legally work in Taiwan ?

Many thanks
Rosh

I don’t believe the Taiwan government differentiates between nationalities in this regard (except for citizens of Mainland China, Hong Kong and Macao), though there may be some differences in documentation. There’s an explanation of required documents here (assuming your fiance has a “household registration” in Taiwan like all Taiwan residents generally do)

http://www.boca.gov.tw/ct.asp?xItem=6136&ctNode=778&mp=2

People married to Taiwan citizens with Resident visas can legally work here.

2 Likes

@tempogain: thank you for replying. It seems to me, from the boca website, that we need to get married in my country (Sri Lanka). It is not clear if they still accept marriage certificates if we get married in UK or even in Taiwan. i.e. can I go to Taiwan on a visitor visa, we both get married in Taiwan, and while I am there I apply for a resident/spouse visa. Would this be possible ?