Visa query- entering and then finding work

HI,

My god I hope someone can help me with this one, its been making me tear my non-existent hair out. How do I navigate visas in Taiwan???

Here’s my deal:
I’m Australian (So I can enter visa exempt for 90 days)
I want to move to Taiwan permanently and work as a teacher (Im a TESOL teacher in Australia, so hopefully finding a job in TW won’t be too hard)
I want to be able to actually visit the schools before I sign up to work for them.
I don’t want to have to pay for a return airfare that I’ll never use.

Basically my question is: How can I enter Taiwan, shop around for a good school and then get my ARC and necessary resident visa, without having to pay for a needless return ticket or having to leave Taiwan for a new visa application?

If you can help me I will buy you steam boat
If you can’t help me I will buy you stinky tofu

THANKS!

Seeing as how there are zero replies ill throw my two pennies.

1: yes you can arrive as a tourist and change it to a resident visa. I did it.

2: it might not be possible on a landing visa. Better to get a tourist visitor visa.

3: question has been answered before, search the threads

4: best if luck with it

Thanks for the advice Liam, but can you clarify…

which is question three?

I still don’t understand is there anyway I can get a visitor visa without needing an airfare that shows I plan to leave? That seems to be one of the requirements of the visitor visa, that you have a ticket to leave. But I want to avoid having to buy that.

Just buy a cheap throw away ticket for another destination like Philippines. Tickets one-way are around US$100 right now. Or buy a refundable ticket and the get your refund after you arrive. Eva Airlines for example only charges US$30 to cancel and get a refund. Some other airlines may charge nothing.

1 Like