183-day question, Gold Card, US income only, what is my Taiwan tax liability?

In 2020, I was in Taiwan fewer than 183 days. In 2021, I could choose 183 days or fewer than 183 days. Should I choose fewer? I am certainly leaving, but now I can choose the date for 182 or 183 days. I don’t think that I have any deductions. Income for the 2021 time in Taiwan < NT $600k. Please advise!

Also, I’ve read several threads and other websites, I’m sorry, it is still not clear to me how Americans in Taiwan avoid paying taxes to both Taiwan and USA, or how to receive a refund for one if both are paid. I have already filed my US income tax forms. All my income is from my American university. As a researcher, I don’t think that I am doing any work for a Taiwanese entity, and I don’t know that it makes any difference for taxes. US tax amount was reduced by payments into retirement plans. Is it true that for <183 days, Taiwan tax is 18% of total gross income, regardless of what my income statement calls “federal taxable gross”, a figure less than total gross due to things like retirement plan payments?

(By the way my stay in Taiwan for this particular time was planned long before Covid-19.)

Thanks, I plan to be back in the USA by then. Besides the questions about my particular case, I’m worried about how complicated is the on-line tax reporting described in several Forumosa threads.

Aren’t you in Taiwan right now?

Sorry! my mistake. I thought it was July 2021.

1 Like

I was in a somewhat similar situation. They’ll use your AGI (what’s in your W2 from work / on your 1040) to determine your income–so yes, it’s the amount after pre-tax deductions like 401k, health insurance, etc.