19 Year Old Canadian... Dual National/Dual Citizen

Hello there everyone,

I’ve been reading this forum up and down, through and through, trying to find out what I need to know to become a citizen of Taiwan, however, there is very little help for my case.

I’m currently 18 years old living in Taiwan, I have been here since Jan. 2 2006, and have been living here with an ARC for almost a year. I will be up for my first renewal on Apr. 30.

The reason I’m here is because of joining family. HOWEVER, my family is NOT Taiwanese. My mother is a foreigner here as well, although it might be quite hard to convince her to give up her citizenship, I am willing to do it, to gain citizenship in Taiwan through naturalization.
I know that someone is going to mention the fact that I will have to go to Millitary, but I have no problems with that.

I have already graduated from University, HOWEVER, my degrees will NOT be recognized by ROC gov’t, because of the age that I graduated from University (17). So this will lead to another problem when I have to renew my paperwork when I turn 20.

However, I would like to know now, if it is possible for me to give up my Canadian citizenship, and then become a Taiwanese citizen? Before I turn 20?
My 19th birthday is coming soon, April 30, and I would really like to know more information.

I’m currently living in PingZhen City (close to ZhongLi City) in TaoYuan County. My Chinese isn’t bad, as I try to teach myself as much as possible, however, my Chinese isn’t at a level for communicating what I want (which it to become a citizen). I know where all the proper offices are for the city, and for the county, but just need some help with what I need to ask for, and such.

Also, I read that no Canadian has become Taiwanese through Naturalization. If this is false, if the person who DID do this could please contact me, I’d love to know more. IF they kept Canadian citizenship.