20% surcharge for foreigners at a 5-start hotel?

Does anyone else get really sick of the 20% surcharge for foreigners? My wife just tried to book a room at the Agora Garden (allegedly 5-star) and when asked “Is the room for a Chinese or a foreigner?” she asked the difference in price. It was 20% less for a Taiwan national.

Hotel in question is:

Agora Garden, Taipei
68 Songgao Rd

Any recommendations on a DECENT 5 star hotel in Taipei?

Landis too, standard room NT$3,500 to locals and NT$4,500 to foreigners…

And, my last try…Shangri-La…NT$8800 for Chinese, NT$10,800 for foreigners…

…I give up, I’m going to Singapore…

It’s not Taiwanese/Foreigners. It’s residents/foreigners. If you’ve got an ARC you can get the discount too.

Brian

Bu’s right - it’s discrimination against non-residents, not non-nationals. As a resident, I can live with that. :stuck_out_tongue:

Doesn’t make it any less stupid though…

Many countries have special rates for residents at 5-star hotls. Well, I know we had it in NZ anyway. You could get special rates as a local. Most of a hotel’s rooms are vacant most of the time anyway, so they try and enocurage locals to take holidays there to get the occupancy rates up. I think that’s the reasoning anyway.

Brian

I did not say surcharge, thanks for making my post politically correct when I’m as politically correct as a fart in church. I meant qnd SAID +20% foreigner discount for a reason, and with a degree in writing, I know the implications of what I said.

The simple fact is that I have NEVER been offered the same price as a Chinese even WITH an ARC. The fact that Taiwan pays lip service to wanting tourists and then proceeds to try and bugger those tourists AND charge for the vaseline…

…I can live with getting screwed by most market vendors, they are basically peasants in designer clothes anyway. Getting f@cked by major international hotel chains is another thing…