2013-2014 MOE Huayu Enrichment Scholarship (HES)

I’m filling out the application right now and found this…

So now you’re required to have a Facebook account?!

Apparantly, I’m not required to have a Facebook account, but a Chinese name. It says every question has to be answered clearly and completely, and they ask for my Chinese name.

They can’t require me to have one, right?

Steve: That’s… incredible O_O. Fortunately, my district doesn’t ask for Facebook accounts…

Sko: I’m a newbie to this application process (so, I don’t know), but I’d do what they say and fill everything in-- it’s not hard to make up a Chinese name if you don’t have one. If you have a not-too-obscure first name, type it into Google Translate and it’ll give you the commonly accepted translation into Chinese. Of course, if you don’t want your Chinese name to sound like a foreigner’s, you’ll have to ask someone who knows Chinese to help you out :wink:.

I have a question about the references. Who’s a better reference: my boss or my Taiwanese language exchange partner? I’m guessing my language exchange partner, but I’m not sure if they’re looking for a character reference as well? Also, the announcement says nothing about how long the references should be or what language they should be written in… my boss would write English and my language exchange partner would prefer to write Chinese. Is either language OK?

It’s so annoying how little information they post online… perhaps this is their way of weeding out applicants :P.

Thanks ^_^.