3G to end in December 2018?

Several articles talk about the end of 3G communications these days, such as

I’m no techie, and still use my 3G “dumb” phone, does this mean I need to get a new phone or just that the telcom companies will incorporate 3G into their 4G communications, and end users don’t need a new phone?

Yes, need a new phone then. I’ll also lose the ability to use a 2nd SIM card on my brand new samsung phone. Thank you, NCC.

Here is another article in English:

In the TT article it says “However, users of 3G might need to change to 4G SIM cards if they want to continue using their 3G cellphones after the telecoms’ licenses expire, he said.”

So it sounds like you can still use a 3G phone, just change SIM card, and contract? What about prepaid IF service?

3g phoned cannot use 4g networks, regardless of sim card. I’m not sure what that article means, but if all 3g networks are switched off, no 3g only phones can work any more. Simple, technical fact. (The receive/send part doesn’t work with 4g, it’s a different and incompatible technology)

I’ll try to find out details

Seems like there is some “backup plan” to keep a kind of 3g network operating. Maybe only for voice, not data. SMS? No idea. But seems like not a complete switching off of 3g. The news are quite unclear on that… I’ll to find out more…

1 Like

They wanted me to change phone numbers, I said no, so they gave me a 4G card linked to my number.

Coworkers were also a bit unclear about the details of the frequency things, but the common understanding seems to be:

3g phones can still be used for voice and SMS, not internet though. New SIM card necessary.

I guess I’ll have to ask the Telecom companies if I want to understand the background…

1 Like

Thanks for looking into it, with more than 6 million 3G subscribers you’d think they’d make things clear and simple.

Haha maybe I’m just stupid and drunk :thinking: