6th grade teaching troubles

I’m a new teacher here. On the whole classes have gone well. 3rd grade is a lot of fun, 5th grade is too, 1st grade is fun but a little difficult to stretch the lesson. But 6th grade just plain sucks. The students don’t talk much, and when they do they whisper or answer in Chinese. They seem completely uninterested and bore the hell out of me.

But, I seem to bore them too. I don’t know why, but I just can’t connect with the 6th graders. I can joke around with the 1st and 5th graders pretty well and the 3rd graders extremely well, but for the 6th graders, most everything is met with silence. So today, while walking around the room after having them write two sentences in their notebooks, one of the students kept saying “I wish we had our old teacher” in Chinese. Fuuu. Talk about confidence killer, haha. It just seems so puzzling, because all of the students in my other classes are always so happy to see me and talk with me.

So, how the hell do I teach the 6th graders?

Also, another question I’ve wanted to ask before today, how do you make the reading and answering exercises more fun? For example, read a passage, then answer multiple questions. This part bores me and I’m sure it bores the students too. Read, answer, check answers. Any tips?

No advice at 3:30 in the morning, but the sixth graders are just sixth graders. It’s like a sickness or syndrome here. They have just taken huge exams that determine where they’ll be studying next year. Up until now, they’ve been with the same classfull of kids from third grade on. This is exciting and frightening for them, as well as very stressfull just in the testing bit, without the relational stuff.

Plus, they’re pubescent, hormone laden creatures with no outlet for all kinds of frustrations.

The last place they want to be is in your classroom. It has NOTHING to do with you.

If you were in their shoes, how might you behave? How could your teacher make you care about some English classes?