A few n00b questions

Well, I feel like a bit of an ass for asking so much and being able to contribute so little, but any help would be greatly appreciated.

I’d like to teach English in Taiwan after I get my BS both for the experience as a whole and to pay off student loan debts before returning to complete an MS, and then probably going back for good. But there are some things I should get set straight as soon as possible to avoid unpleasant surprises.

I understand that you need a Bachelor’s Degree, which I will have by then. However, I am majoring in Computer Science for my BS. Not very English education-y, and I see that a lot of job offerings prefer you to have a BA. However, I am a paid assistant in my school’s ESL lab. So I already have a fair amount of experience with English as second language education and they all really like the job I do. But I don’t know how much that really elevates you above other applicants. What are some undergraduate elective classes that would be good for me take, and what certificates should I get? TEFL or what else…

Also, how strong should your Chinese be before you go? The grammar and speaking part of Chinese is not so bad. But reading, writing and of course listening is much harder. One of the reasons I wanted to teach English is so I could learn Chinese in the process. I’m still worried about achieving literacy … I imagine that it will take me ten years to have a good command of traditional characters given a reasonable effort. So how will I make it in a country being functionally illiterate for so long? :cry:

I have a CS BSc too, and no school has ever batted an eyelid at it. They want it because it’s a legal requirement to get you a work permit, not because they care about your qualifications.

If you have any ESL experience at all, you’re already better qualified than most people when they first come here (including me – I had none at all, and was terrified of children and of speaking in public).