A quick question about PGCE's

I have my PGCE (professional certificate in education) from Sunderland University in the UK by distance learning. I have two years ESL experience in Japan and I

Legally, the only thing that would matter in your situation is whether or not you hold a bachelor’s degree from a recognized university. Certificates don’t matter. Experience doesn’t matter (unless you have a lot of it, in certain cases). Degrees talk.

[quote]The first question is:
As I did not obtain my PGCE in the UK and thus did not compete a year in a state school in England following my PGCE to obtain QTS (qualified teacher status) am I still eligible to work for a state of private (not buxiban) school in Taiwan. [/quote]
What age group are you hoping to teach? Although you haven’t done the practicum, your having some sort of teaching qualification will be an advantage in looking for work. However, if your goal is to teach in some sort of post-secondary state institution, the PGCE w/out QTS may not be very helpful. It may open up opportunities in private colleges, though.

[quote]
Secondly:
I am currently studying for my Masters in TESOL from the same University by distance learning. And again the question is: Do the Taiwanese government recognize distance learning degrees and if so would this qualify me to work in state school of higher education.[/quote]