ABCs Going Back to the Motherland

My friend and I are planning to go to Taiwan or China sometime in January/February to teach English for a year. We want to be able to travel around Southeast Asia in our free time while supporting ourselves abroad by teaching or through some other form of gainful employment. I have some experience as a writing tutor and conversation partner to Japanese foreign exchange students but no TEFL or teaching experience with a class. My friend speaks fluent Mandarin and has volunteer experience teaching an English classroom in Finance but no TEFL or prior language teaching experience to a class of Mandarin speakers. She has more experience as a data analyst in a mid-cap company in America and can go in the direction of teaching or analyst jobs in Taiwan. Because neither of us have TEFL and substantial experience teaching a class, I’m assuming we’ll probably go to a chain school to teach.

Does anyone know of any opportunities for two American born Chinese gals like us? We’d like to live somewhere Mandarin speaking (I’m looking to take Chinese classes while I’m there) so does anyone know any good branches in the outer ring of Taipei?

You guys will have no problem finding teaching gigs. However, real finance jobs do not exist in Taiwan. So your friend can forget about an IB job.

[quote=“funksoulbrutha”]
Does anyone know of any opportunities for two American born Chinese gals like us? We’d like to live somewhere Mandarin speaking (I’m looking to take Chinese classes while I’m there) so does anyone know any good branches in the outer ring of Taipei?[/quote]

Taipei is also Mandarin speaking you know. Also, financially speaking you would get more opportunities here in Taipei and probably better pay.

That’s an ambitious list for one year. Hope you have a decent pile of cash.