Accidentally overstayed ARC

This is my first time, but boy do I feel like an idiot. Six weeks ago, my employer obtained my new three year work permit, and I got my new contract. Shortly after that, I got my notification from immigration that my ARC would expire. I looked at the date, which was June 13th.

Just today, my boss asked me if I had my new ARC. I said I had until the 13th and double checked my ARC. I realized that I had previously looked at the date of issue and take a year after that date as the expiry date. It had in fact expired on May 11th.

Now, I have a Taiwanese wife and kid here with me. I will go to immigration tomorrow as I need to go to the office today to make sure I have all my documents. Does anyone have any idea what to expect? I have read a few threads here, but don’t know if I should expect the same.

I don’t know if this will help, but I have one or two acquaintances in the foreign affairs police.

Sent from my GT-N5100 using Tapatalk 4 Beta

Be humble and apologetic. But you knew that already. And it couldn’t hurt to have your Taiwanese wife and child with you when you visit.

Good luck!

BTW, why a work-based ARC instead of a JFRV, which has open work privileges?

In case anything happens to my wife. Her idea.

I need a checklist of what I need. I assume: work permit, contract and job certificate, ARC, passport, photos, housing documents, money, maybe take my son and his Taiwan passport. My wife is working tomorrow. How much money should I take? I wonder if I am likely to be fined.

[quote=“Reaperjim”]In case anything happens to my wife. Her idea.

Sent from my GT-N5100 using Tapatalk 4 Beta[/quote]

Bit OT, but needs to be said:

Eh, you know the law has changed and they don’t kick you out of the country right after your spouse dies, right? Especially with a kid. Ask your friends at NIA.