Accidently Overstayed Visa

Hey guys,

I am a student at ShiDa and have accidently overstayed my visa for approximately 7 days. I mistook the end of the semester with the end of the visa date, completely retarded I know. Is there anything I can do? I have enrolled for the next semester at ShiDa, my grades are very good so it isn’t asif I am slacking either.

Anyones guidance/information would be brilliant. Should I go down to the place where I extend my visa and explain the situation to them?

Cheers,
Tim

I was in the same position, and there’s absolutely no way out of it. You will have to do a visa run. The sooner the better. Good luck!

Visa run, immigration cops at the airport will take you into a small room for a talk. Be honest, don’t give them any lip, say sorry, take responsibility, and pay a small fine (maybe NT$1000/day). It’s really not a big deal.

I overstayed by a day once. :idunno:
Just don’t do it again. Third time, you get a black mark for a few years.

Oh well these things happen, so long as it isn’t irrepairable. I presume I have to goto the visa office in taipei and pay some kind of fine before I leave the country?

I have a big test on tuesday at Shi Da which asseses my placement so I am going to go after that, I need to pay for the next semester at Shi-Da first so they will properly enroll me aswell before I can go.

Did you goto HK and have any problems or is it a relatively common occurance?

If anyone can answer these questions it would be much appreciated!

Thanks,
Tim

I was 17 days over, and paid the fine at the airport. They gave me no hassle and didn’t take me into a room for interrogation. I suppose that happens for a lengthy overstay. If I recall correctly, the amount was 5000NT$.