Actors Permit

I have heard that if you want to do TV work in Taiwan you need to have what is called a “Actors Permit”.

Does anyone know about how this is done? What the requirements are as far as education? If my degree is in a non arts related field would I be eligable for a Actors Permit, etc…

I am totally unsure of how this whole thing works. Any advice would be helpful. Thanks in advance

Good luck. Taiwan is only interested in “Taiwanese” talent. Even the days of imported huaqiao talent are long gone. Guys like VJs David Wu and Rick Tan could not get working visas here because the MOFA felt their work was something that Taiwanese could do just as well.

Interesting points, Maoman. I have heard similar things.

Though you do still see the odd (no pun intended) "foreigner"on TV these days.

Just the other week on the Jacky Wu show, a blond Mandarin speaking “lao wai” was trotted out to take part in bit where they film and fool a Taiwanese star who is having his (most often it is a male star) hair washed.

I don’t think any acting permit is needed. Maybe Jeff (Locker or “Jeff-u”) can answer this question for us.

But, zazen, I don’t think any special permit is needed to appear on TV in Taiwan–just a willingness to swallow your pride and act the fool.

You will find some answers on this page: gio.gov.tw/info/foreign_e/

[quote=“The Government Information Office”]Required Documents:

New Applicant:

Written application;
Application form (to be obtained from the GIO and filled out in detail);
A photocopy of the business registration certificate, or group or corporate body establishment registration certificate;
A copy of the employment contract with detailed information on the expected period of employment, position, work content, salary, and insurance;
Certification of the foreign employee’s academic qualification (university and above) and work experience
<1> Waived for those engaged in entertainment work