'Advanced' Chinese - The Independent Reader

I picked up a useful book from Eslite Xinyi store the other day called “The Independent Reader” by Vivian Ling, for only 500NT. I’m studying Chinese at MTC in Shi-da in my first term and have learned Chinese for a few years back home (Chinese studies was one of my majors).

Being at my stage of learning Chinese seems to me to be the most daunting stage to be at. I might have a decent vocabulary, can hold a fairly decent conversation in Chinese and understand most things people say to me if they don’t speak too fast, but it seems like at this level there’s a massive learning curve still to go and explosion of vocab items. That’s why when I read the preface to this book I was suitably excited:

Before it gets into the readings, it has a kind of introductory chapter called ‘getting acquainted with your tool kit’, where it outlines the hurdles that remain at the ‘advanced’ level of Chinese study, which, by and large, are the very things I’ve had trouble with, namely the explosion of unfamiliar vocabulary when you start to read newspaper/magazine articles and more ‘academic’ writings, and long and contorted sentences held together by 語法詞. Does this sound familiar to any learners of Chinese out there? :stuck_out_tongue: