Advice about company politics

I’ve been working at a Taiwan tech company for 1 year, 3 years total in the Taiwan tech scene. I’m the first foreigner in this department and there wasn’t a job description for me when I started. I’ve created new projects that have helped our departmental goals along with regular proofreading/editing tasks. (Not product related, more corporate communications stuff.)

Two weeks ago an opportunity came up in another department doing sales and I’d be stationed in Europe for 2 years. This is exactly what I want to do as I’ve been doing marketing for 3 years and want to get into sales as a next step in my career. Here’s where things get tricky. My current director isn’t happy at all with this situation. a) because she wants me to stay in her department and continue working for her and b) she Really dislikes the director of the department that offered me the job in Europe.

We were very friendly and would chat all the time, but now that she knows another department is interested (and frankly I’m very interested) she has been giving me the huge cold shoulder. The major issue is that I need her approval for an internal transfer. Of course she knows this so the ball is in her court.

From talking with other people I know she feels like I’m being selfish and not thinking about “the team” (which in reality means her team). I feel like she’s being selfish and not thinking about the company’s goals. I feel like she wants to keep me on a leash because some of my work has made her look good in the eyes of the CEO and top management. By denying me this opportunity I’d be extremely disappointed and saddened because that’s a logical step for my career development.

I’ve tried to ask her to lunch so we can try and find a solution but she’s been avoiding me. Finally she agreed to meet me tomorrow afternoon.