Advice for newbies

Hello all! My boyfriend and I are arriving in Taiwan February 9th to teach English. On the advice of numerous postings, we are waiting until we arrive to find a job rather than using an agent or trying to find something from overseas. However, I’m unsure of what our plan of action should be once we arrive. We would like to teach outside of Taipei and we would prefer to teach older kids or adults. How do we go about finding openings and scheduling interviews? We taught in Europe for a few years, we both have BAs, and TEFL Certs. I also have my MA in ESL Ed. and I’m a certified teacher in the U.S. I’ve been to tealit.com and buxiban.com, so I’m aware of those resources, but what additional job search methods should we use upon arrival? Thank you!! (Sorry if this posting is redundant. Feel free to point me to other threads I may have missed.)

You are way overqualified for a buxiban job if you’ve got an M.A. in ESL. You can have your pick of university/college jobs around Taiwan. However, it is too late to sign up for the coming semester, so you’ll probably have to wait until August for one of those positions.

If you want to find a buxiban job, the easiest way is to look at bulletin boards at foreigner-oriented restaurants/hangouts/hostels; you’ll find plenty of ads for jobs posted there. Or put up an advertisement of your resume on forumosa.com or tealit.com, you’ll probably get offers from employers.

What cities/towns are hot spots for teaching outside of Taipei? Taichung is already on our list. Is it easiest to base ourselves in Taipei and then make a few day trips to other places?

Are you of Polish ancestry, by chance? Your handle reminds me of something my Polish-Canadian friend used to say.

Peachca,