Advice on part-time job for CS student in northern Taiwan (Preferably Taipei)

I’m an PhD student with a scholarship in computer science but I need a bit extra income for about 10h/week.

• I have ARC and work-permit (obviously by the uni)
  • I also can Code, AI/ML design, Teach (both STEM, programming and English), English Editorial and writing stuff (revise and proof-read papers, teaching material).
  • I can also (with not much experience) do basic web development and system administration.

However:

• While I’m fluent English speaker, I’m not native speaker (US/UK/AU/CA/… passport holder)
  • My Mandarin skills is very basic unfortunately, also zero skill in reading Mandarin (I get around with Google Translate).

I don’t know how the market is for such my case and where is the best to look for? any advice? Plus, what is the acceptable target for hour pay? 500 nt/h or 1000 nt/hr?

1 Like

Assisting cram schools with marking and other admin tasks pays ok. More than min wage.

What sorta skills do you have as well?

What do you mean by CS? Like. You’re a Czech student?

Computer science

Thanks for the suggestion. How can I reach for those jobs? I tried to use online (like glassdoor) but they were either required Chinese language or didn’t bother to reply.

Just like Taiwan_Luthiers said, computer science. I made changes to original post

You got any Taiwanese friends? They can help set up an electronic CV on 1111 and 104.

While Tealit is mostly dead, a lot of schools still post there. Check and apply.

And let me know some of your Computer Science skills and/or languages. If anyone asks me, ill send em over here.

What’s you county’s official language(s)?

My programming languages that I know well and experienced in are: Python, Matlab and Julia and with less experience C/C++. I’m mainly work in machine learning and deep learning models, if you want me to be more specific.