Advise on teaching english on a Marriage ARC

I am living in Taiwan and wondering if I would be deported for teaching English to children under 1st grade? I will have my Marriage ARC, in a few weeks hopefully! Also I have a Bachelors Degree certified by TECO. Along with a Certified CLEAN criminal background check. I am married to a Taiwanese with a child living in Taiwan currently on a Visa. Thanks!!!

Basically under Taiwan law I am just wondering if they will deport me if I am on a Marriage ARC as opposed to a Working ARC?

You’ll do just fine, as long as you wait until you actually have your JFRV in hand.

labrador004, if you have a JFRV (spouse/marriage visa), you really don’t have to worry about getting deported for things like that. I’m not sure what the age rules are exactly, but since your visa will no longer depend on your job, I think that the worst case scenario would likely be a fine. However, please wait for others to comment.

He can gets work rights and can work anywhere

So can any foreigner with a JFRV teach Kindergarten (for example) legally?

So can any foreigner with a JFRV teach Kindergarten (for example) legally?[/quote]

I don’t think so because English-language kindies are actually what’s illegal. When my wife used to teach kindy, she’d get a day off every now and then when the inspectors came. Her boss preferred to use the lower paid assistants only on those days, not the higher paid teachers.

EDIT - I should specify for those that don’t know that my wife is Taiwanese.

Labrador, I have heard different stories regarding this issue. I think your best bet is to consult with Eiger Law just to be safe. You could call the Labor Board directly but you will likely get different answers from different people.

This has turned into one big huggy lovefest. :lovestruck:

OP, I’ve just got me magic abacus out and I’ve worked out the percentage chance of you getting deported if you are on a JFRV and teaching kindy = 0.00001%.

Still a chance, though.