After i get married can i work...?

Hi everyone,

Im a european female thats gonna marry my adorable fiance at the end of this year. Becos im a British citizen we must get married in Hongkong to avoid the hassels of waiting for the singles doc and criminal record.

As far as ive been told, once we get married in HK we must then go the the Taiwanese consulate with our wedding registration, record the marriage there, then i should apply for a three month tourist visa…then on a plane to Tw.

When i get to tw my bf and i must visit his local police station and ask to apply for…(wedding visa) im not sure the exact name…and wait for the processing to go through.

Now my question is that within the time of waiting for the marriage visa, can i work in a school? There is another point i have not made, can i work on the marriage visa even though i do not hold ANY higher education cert?

No degree/diploma, can i work? :unamused:

If you are married to an ROC citizen and have a Joining Family Residence Visa and an ARC with his name on, you do not need a work visa. If the school/company requires a degree, that’s up to them, but you don’t need one for a work visa.
I think you have to wait until you have your ARC to work legally.

You are going to need to get the police record etc. to register the marriage in Taiwan. Once you have registered it in Taiwan, you can get a marriage-based ARC and work. Expect several months of paperwork. This topic has been discussed extensively here.

I’m not sure how much trouble you’ll save by getting married in Hong Kong. Then again, I’m not British, so maybe I’m not fully informed on the issue. Like Feiren said, try searching the boards.

Is the proof of no criminal record required for marriage in Taiwan, or for getting the spousal ARC, or both?