After living years in Taiwan, what is your level of Chinese?

WhatsApp Image 2019-05-02 at 12.16.42

After living years in Taiwan, what is your level of chinese mandarin?

Professionally fluent

And it took Iā€™d say ten years of study to get to that point

11 Likes

advanced intermediate, i can understand most of whats going on, my key gaps are vocabulary in fields im not exposed too at work or day to day life.

5 Likes

To begin with a nitpick, I call it ā€œMandarin Chineseā€, with ā€œMandarinā€ being an adjective to describe what kind of ā€œChineseā€. Itā€™s very weird to me that some globally recognized universities even call it ā€œChinese Mandarinā€. Go down that rabbit hole and youā€™re making a distinction between the Mandarin spoken in China (Chinese Mandarin) as compared to that spoken in Taiwan (Taiwanese Mandarin). Otherwise there is ā€œChineseā€ + a bazillion versions of it, of them Mandarin is one.

But to answer the question, I studied for two years in university in the US (so much pointless grammar structure + memorize these vocab words, class entirely in English) and then studied in Beijing for a semester (intense as hell. No English ever and 100+ new vocab words daily). Tested Advanced-low on the ACTFL OPI and WPT at the end. Didnā€™t take any Chinese my senior year (my moronic university used the mandatory jr yr study abroad as a capstone, even though no one had anything resembling academic proficiency upon return). Lived full time in Taiwan for two years after graduation. After those two years, I tested Advanced-High on the ACFTL OPI and WPT. What I accomplished in four months of intense study (basically 0 to advanced-low during that semester in Beijing) took two years of derping around in a country where the language is spoken (and I was speaking it). (Supposedly once youā€™re in the advanced levels, you need double all combined classroom time youā€™ve had previously to get to the next level.). Yeah, so anyone quitting their classes at shida