Alien Resisdent Certificate(ARC) Cancel - Waiting for Work Permit?

Hi,

Well here is the thing,My ARC is actually valid till September 2013, However, This was Issued when I was a student doing my masters here. I have already graduate in Feb, So actually It has been nearly two months since I have been here after that. I was assuming that the only way I can get into trouble was if i exceeded SEP 2013, In the mean time I found a job (in mid FEB). The company told me that they are processing my work permit and just asked me to stay low and not tell anyone i am emploed since it is actually illegal.

It has been nearly a month but my company says the work permit is still under processing. The thing is that yesteday morning I got a letter from the Immigration Office saying that since the reason of ARC /resident permit (student) is over( I already graduated two months back) , I must now leave Taiwan before 5th April i.e next week.

My company has already applied the work permit but not sure when it will be completed. I am not sure how to proceed since i do not want to break the rules and overstay the arc. But I do have a proper contract and an offer plus a work permit under processing.l am planning to give a visit to the ARC office on Monday and tell them that I am waiting for the application to be completed and also show them the contract. However, I am not sure of the process and any advice how to deal with this situtation?

THanks a lot