Alien Resisdent Certificate(ARC) Cancel - Waiting for Work Permit?

Hi,

Well here is the thing,My ARC is actually valid till September 2013, However, This was Issued when I was a student doing my masters here. I have already graduate in Feb, So actually It has been nearly two months since I have been here. I was assuming that the only way I can get into trouble was if i exceeded SEP 2013, In the mean time I found a job (in mid FEB). The company told me that they are processing my work permit and just asked me to stay low and not tell anyone i am emploed since it is actually illegal.

It has been nearly a month but my company says the work permit is still under processing. The thing is that yesteday morning I got a letter from the Immigration Office saying that since the reason of ARC /resident permit (student) is over( I already graduated two months back) , I must now leave Taiwan before 5th April i.e next week.

My company has already applied the work permit but not sure when it will be completed. I am not sure how to proceed since i do not want to break the rules and overstay the arc. But I do have a proper contract and an offer plus a work permit under processing.l am planning to give a visit to the ARC office on Monday and tell them that I am waiting for the application to be completed and also show them the contract. However, I am not sure of the process and any advice how to deal with this situtation?

THanks a lot

Number 1: DO NOT, under any circunstance, overstay.

Number 2: the date on your ARC is for reference only. As the NIA has told you, once your reason for being here -i.e. studying- is over, your ARC is NO longer valid, NO matter what is written on it. At least they had the kindness of letting you know, if it was an employer, there is no reason for them to do it and you could be oversatying without really knowing -an employer has no obligation to let you know such things as your work permit’s cancellation date.