Altercation with a truck driver

Hi, had an altercation with a truck driver yesterday evening. At the time I just though “what a dick”, but now I’m a bit shook up after thinking how badly it could have turned out.

First up, I should say that I’m a relatively inexperienced driver. However, I am very slow and cautious, and have driven on this stretch of road hundreds of times before.

I took the exit off highway 3 to Taipei, and was driving down the exit ramp in the left most lane, ready to turn left. At the end of the exit ramp is a 3-lane T intersection, with traffic lights. The lights were green so I picked up speed going down the ramp and started to turn left pretty quickly; it’s a very tight turn.

As I was turning I noticed a large 8 wheeler truck to the my right. Guess i was going too quickly as I drifted very close to him and to sharply turn the wheel to move away. I finished turning before him and straightened up, but I guess I cut into his path as again I was too close and had to pull the wheel sharply to prevent a collision. After we’d both finished turning the road was clear ahead, so I accelerated ahead of him and moved into the middle lane in front of him, as I needed to turn right very soon.

Now that he was immediately behind me, he turned on his LOUD truck speaker system and began blasting my car with Chinese. I couldn’t understand what he was saying, but it sounded angry and mocking, probably insults. I moved into the right-most lane in preparation to turn right, but he slowed down and followed me, driving next to my car, still continuing the shouting on the loud speakers.