Am I here legally?

So, I just realized something: I don’t know anyone else in my current situation. I think I’d better check and make sure this is legal.
I’m here on a visitor’s visa, though I am a student at NCCU and also a worker at Kid Castle. Kid Castle has my work permit, so they say it’s legal for me to work there, and I never bothered to apply for resident status or an ARC because I’ll be getting married in June and won’t need any of it.

But suddenly I’m nervous about if I should actually have an ARC. I know you can have a student ARC and still work legally providing the workplace has a work permit for you, so I assumed that it was the work permit that makes the whole thing valid, not the ARC. I have an expired ARC number from my last job. That’s it.

Am I OK until I get married or should I worry?

Your situation sounds problematic. Please provide some more details.

You had an ARC; but it was canceled when you left your job / your contract ended. So then you left Taiwan and reentered (when exactly?) on a tourist visa (single-entry? multiple entry? renewable or not? good for a stay of how long?) using a passport from _____________ (what country?). And you have renewed that visa (no/yes (if yes, how many times and when?)?) based on your status as a student at NCCU?

And in June you will be marrying a Taiwanese citizen, not a foreigner here on an ARC, right?

You might want to look at this thread:
http://www.forumosa.com/taiwan/viewtopic.php?f=67&t=97686

[quote=“cranky laowai”]Your situation sounds problematic. Please provide some more details.

You had an ARC; but it was canceled when you left your job / your contract ended. So then you left Taiwan and reentered (when exactly?) on a tourist visa (single-entry? multiple entry? renewable or not? good for a stay of how long?) using a passport from _____________ (what country?). And you have renewed that visa (no/yes (if yes, how many times and when?)?) based on your status as a status as a student at NCCU?