American new to Taipei, without ARC, having banking issues

Having serious banking issues without arc card… i just moved here to live and i want to travel and relax before making a business to get my resident card.
My research says all banks can open an account for me, but alot will refuse. I have went to 24 banks and im wasting alot of time… i have usa cashiers checks to deposit into an account and they are treated like toxic poison. So im new to tw and the cash i brought will be gone soon, homeless and broke welcome to tw!!

Does any have an idea , oh i will answer questions
I know what FACTA is
Thanks, im sure i missed a detail

Did you go to immigration and get a paper called the record of ID in ROC.? It has a number on it that some banks will allow you to use to open an account.

Although recently the banks have become excessively anal about opening new accounts for foreigners, they see money launderers everywhere now whereas before they opened accounts willy nilly for everyone.

I’d suggest bank of Taiwan if you’re having trouble preferably one near a university where they get foreign students opening an account that often dont have an ARC yet.

They don’t like American cheques because they take a lot of time to clear and are considered as high risk by the bank especially if you want to open an account as a new customer and then immediately deposit them. Again I’d look at government banks… Bank of Taiwan, Land Bank, Huanan, First Bank. They are more likely to accept what you are asking for.

5 Likes

Why not just use your American ATM card and get cash directly? Fee is quite low.

I was in a similar situation when I first came to Taiwan. Most grocery stores with accept American credit cards (your credit card will change you a fee of about 5%). I ate mostly packaged food my first month here. Then, I discovered the record of ID that @dan2006 mentioned. It really works. I opened an account with the post office. But I’ve never cashed a cashier’s check.