An expat to be reaches out

My name is Evan (還是我叫泰艾凡), I’m currently a senior at Boise State University. I’m majoring in communications with a minor in Mandarin Chinese. My fiance is from Taiwan and i’ll be moving there next summer after I graduate.

I initially intend to teach English, however only for 1-2 years. My main goal is to become fluent in Mandarin and be able to do work related to my interests (which include interpersonal/intercultural communication) as well as such fields as Public Relations.

I’ve studied Mandarin for 2 years now and feel very happy to have the chance in a podunk state like Idaho to study such a beautiful language. I plan to study Mandarin often once I actually get to Taiwan.

I have tons of questions, especially relating to teaching English as a newbie in Taiwan. I’ve read through the teaching forum and have gained a lot of information, almost too much honestly though, brain overload. That said, I’m glad to find Forumosa to have discussions with others that have made the move to Taiwan.

I enjoy photography, travel, sports (favorite is ice hockey), movies, music and more.

For now I can’t think of what else to type, it’s a bit late here: 我是一個夜貓子.

Welcome to Forumosa, Evan!

I second that. Welcome to Forumosa! For many of us, coming to Taiwan was just a summer thing (or 1-2 year plan). But many of us fall in love with the place, and end up staying longer.

Enjoy your last year in college – and best of luck in your plans to come to the island!

-Hobbes

[quote=“Hobbes”]
Enjoy your last year in college – and best of luck in your plans to come to the island!

-Hobbes[/quote]