Any celebrities here?

Curious if anyone here has “made it” as a celebrity in Taiwan? I.e. making a good living, have a decent agent, can pick and choose what they do. If that’s you, I’d love to hear your story, ask pertinent questions etc, (and of course if you’d rather not be chatting about details on a public forum, that’s completely understandable, but do please PM me…)

1 Like

PM sent. I’m Madonna

6 Likes

Bringing a whole new meaning to the term “TV show”, I take it? :grin:

That’s something I wouldn’t wish on my worst enemy.

3 Likes

I had a good friend in Taichung years ago who made it big, then married a TW celebrity. It did not end well, I’m told.

You’ve got to be truly awful to “make it” in Taiwan.

You’re just bitter

3 Likes

Nah. Long past my prime. And I’m not good at K-Pop.

2 Likes

Could you expand on that? :thinking:

Well, they only like shit music and shit TV.

2 Likes

I’ve got almost 200 followers on Instagram, there are several restaurants and bars where the staff know my order without me needing to say anything, and the guy in my local OK Mart remembers my name and the last three digits of my phone number. PM sent.

17 Likes

Generally agreed.

Looking at it as something to dabble in really. I’m American but grew up elsewhere, so I’m used to being stared at. :smile:

I’ve done bit parts in a few movies and it was a lot of fun, also a tiny bit of modeling, (not so much fun), and I’m regularly compared to several A-list celebs looks-wise.

Obviously none of the above is special and, as with so much of life, “making it” comes down to luck as much as anything near as I can tell. But once moved (in a year or two) I’ll have a fair bit of free time and won’t be starving so I can mix and mingle and try to maximize that luck.