Any fishermen here?

I am from the States, got here about 2 weeks ago. I miss fishing. I live in Taichung. Does anyone have info on where to go, or better yet does anyone want to go? I like fresh water fishing!

I’m not an expert fisherman myself, but when I lived in Kaohsiung, there were lots of indoor shrimp fishing places (check lonely planet for a synopsis). I know some true fishermen frown on that kind of thing, but there was actually lots of technique involved. The experts often brought their own rods and had special bait. If you watch them closely, you’ll learn what it takes to snag the shrimp consistently. I know it’s not ‘real’ fishing, but I’ve seen it work as a temporary substitute.

Other than that, I’ve often seen people fishing in the ocean off a pier (wherever the closest pier is to your place) and it seems wherever there’s a natural body of water people are willing to throw in their line.

The curious thing is the fact that I’ve never seen anyone catch anything outside of a shrimp-fishing joint.

Don’t know about the Taizhong area, but you can get some pretty good fly action – dry and wet – on some of the mountain rivers in areas where there are fish farms. The fish (rainbows) often escape during floods and end up in the river system. Don’t know if they can breed there or not. Trouble is, you have to be prepared to really hike to get to these fish. The native species don’t get very big at all, are heavily fished, and the local anglers keep EVERYTHING, even fingerlings. I got myself an 8-piece boron “smuggler” flyrod sent over, but have yet to make it deep enough into the mountains to make use of it. Seen some decent (2lb-plus) rainbows on several occasions though.
If only I wasn’t so damn lazy.
PS There is one species that gets up to about 5 lb – the Formosan landlocked salmon, but I think they’re only in one river system and they’re protected and extremely endangered, so I wouldn’t try catching them.