Any specific order for learning the characters?

I’d like to start in advance before attending Shida next semester. Is there a listing online of the order in which the characters are being taught?

you know the numbers? pronouns?

i have been piddling with chinese characters for well over twenty years. give me an hour and i’ll completely recast your perception of 'em. they are so far up me brain that when they provide just a mere din i am thankful for the quiet.

you buy the lemonade and bring you’self a thick notebook…

Guinness?

Perhaps I should have mentioned that this is for the beginners class,
as in for those who don’t know the numbers and pronouns.

I have been using Rosetta Stone Mandarin software – absolutely magical in its effectiveness. As far as understanding or reading a bit, I can manage some but it might not be relevant for the class.

So, I should start with numbers and pronouns?

Can you give some details about your experience in using it? I’ve been itching to buy it for some time, but I had several concerns:
a. effective?
b. fun to use? (i.e. I’ll actually use it)
c. value for someone who’s not an absolute beginner (I can get by in simple conversations / equivalent of 1st year college Chinese)

Also Rosetta Stone seems a touch expensive!

Thanks in advance for any insights you can share.

i started back in jr.high in 81 with the defrancis red book and gubo. started out with “ox” and “I” if’n i recall. laoshir had us memorize our stroke orders: hung preceeds shu… computers?i don’t know nothin about computers cept’n they can be recycled as boat anchors. doesn’t matter where you start at, all that matters is where you are going. the simple characters combine to make complex ones.