Apply for HESS beforehand or just come over?

Hi everyone,

New to this forum. Did a little searching around but wanted to get any fresh perspectives as I know the job market can change over time.

I am your typical white 20 something post grad from USA looking to teach English in Taiwan. I have no teaching experience but I do have a 120 hour online TEFL along with 20 in class training.

I’m definitely looking to teach in Taipei or near Taipei off the MRT. I’ve heard to look outside of Taipei as well but I would definitely like to make this a priority.

My question is do I apply ahead of time with a chain like HESS or do I fly over with a few months worth of savings and hit the pavement/send resumes. Most people I’ve talked to have said it shouldn’t be hard and that I should definitely arrive first and then start looking. I plan on coming over in about a month. So… July.

But then again, naturally, I’m worried about those prospects especially after reading posts here of people not finding a job for months and others saying that the Taipei market has dried up unless you have experience.

Any fresh insight on this would be immensely appreciated. Again, I’ll have enough savings to last me a few months (granted I hear the peak hiring season is really just during the summer) and if I don’t apply with a chain ahead of time, I definitely plan to hit the ground running. Just worried about how realistic this may be.

Thanks for reading. I’m sure this has been asked. Just wanted to get an updated picture on this especially for 2017.

All the best

Hess will ask you to pick 4 cities and then place you in 1 of them

Is it totally crazy then to just come over and hit the pavement? A lot of people on reddit seem pretty confident that it can be done. but alas, the internet. Figured Id ask here too :slight_smile:

you gana do a lot of demos then

Also,

Been dong some searching and finding this a bit unclear.