ARC Extension while Representative Office Manager

Hi Folks,

I am on my fourth year as a rep office manager. I want to switch my rep office to a branch office or even a local llc. However, my current ARC expires on Oct. 11, 2022. I will hire a lawyer to setup the new entity but the transition will take longer than my ARC expiration.

I have a few questions:

1. Can I apply for 6 months extension? I heard I get two of these in a lifetime, correct? I have never applied for it before.

2. As a rep office manager, I understand that I am a “foreign professional.” Under the recently changed rules, I want to apply for APRC on my 5th year which is Oct. 2023. The new rule states that I need to be in Taiwan just once every 5 years. I want to keep under this new rule, of course.

So, the question is: If I apply for the extension then when my branch office or llc gets approved and I switch my work permit back to manager under the new entity, does it mess with my benefit (just be in Taiwan once every 5 years) or reset my time accrued (currently 4 years on my ARC)?

Thank you for all your help in advance.

A CPA is easier and cheaper.

Here is mine.

1 Like

Thanks, but he didn’t know either, because it is not his area.
Do you have experience with this situation?

I started a company here. I know this guy. Rep office was an option to me as well but I went with limited company. But he is very experienced with this field.

1 Like

Why not just keep the rep office for another year and then apply for an APRC?

I don’t have enough documentation to renew this time unfortunately.

When you apply for your APRC you will provide your current work permit and as long as it falls under “professional work” at the time of application as defined in Article 4 Paragraph 4 in the Act for the Recruitment and Employment of Foreign Professionals then should be considered as a Foreign Professional.

https://law.moj.gov.tw/ENG/LawClass/LawSearchContent.aspx?pcode=A0030295&norge=4