ARC mess up. Help?

Hello. I have only been living in Taiwan for about a year and stayed with the same school. They got my co-workers and I to both go do our health check in order to renew or Work permits and ARCs for the next school year. It is a fairly new school and I’m a very new teacher so wasn’t really sure how it worked. I did what i was told and thought things should be fine because I’m staying in the same school.

Well, we got my health check back and it told us my ARC was expired. My school and I both thought that it didn’t expire until August. They didn’t really freak out just had me go back and do the next part of the health check. Well then a new teacher had a similar problem and was going to have to leave the country. Now, I realized, it was an issue and I brought it up.

They realized it to and we ran around and tried to fix things but because it was past 30 days, I had to leave. This lead to the issue at hand.

The virus Has made this more costly then it was suppose to so I need the school to help me out. I said I’ll pay for everything else if they cover the plane ticket. They have to talk to other partners but they said they would.

I go back home and come to find they sent my coworkers work permit instead of mine so I’m unable to come back on the original time and now have to be stuck another week paying for hotels and things I can’t afford.

My school messaged me and told me it is my fault pretty much and that they will help me with half of the plane ticket. Now, I know it is somewhat my fault but I don’t think it is all my fault and I don’t think it is unreasonable to ask them to pay for the plane ticket. I’ve asked other foreigners and they said their school stays on top of it.

I’m wondering if I have a fighting chance in this. Has anyone else had this issue with a school? Should I just give up?

What made you believe so ? Doesn’t the ARC come with an expiry date?